Thai Lettuce Wraps (Larb)

You know when you go out to eat and think afterwards, I could have made that at home, and it leaves you feeling pretty meh? I never feel that way when I go out to eat Thai, and that’s why it’s my favorite cuisine. This is exclusive to Asian cuisines though, don’t take me out to Pastini and expect anything other than “I can’t believe they call this Italian.”

As far as trying to recreate Thai food at home, I’m not one of those people going to a specialty market for that one random authentic ingredient I’ll use once and impress no one. Not to mention I am not a fan of going to multiple grocery stores for one dish, no one has time for that. So, let’s I leave the rare chilies to the professionals in this one, use sriracha and stay in your lane.

This Thai Larb inspired dish has a spicy meets tangy flavor, it’s light eating, making it perfect for summer, and it’s pretty fun to eat. I put avocado and shredded cabbage on mine as additional toppings because I put avocado on everything, but it is definitely not Thai inspired after that, so, do what you want.

20170518_125853

 

Thai Lettuce Wraps

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients

For the Sauce:

  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Aminos
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1/2 tsp Sriracha
  • 1/2 tsp Chili Garlic Sauce (use 1/2 tsp more Sriracha, and some garlic, if you don’t have this)
  • 1 tsp Ginger, grated
  • 1 lemongrass stalk, chopped like you would a green onion

For the Filling:

  • 1 Pound Ground Chicken
  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 1/2 Shallot, minced
  • 1/4 Cup Cilantro, finely chopped, plus a few leaves for toppings
  • 1/4 Cup Peanuts, finely chopped

 

  • Romaine leaves, as needed. Cut and use the parts that are more curved, to have a boat for the filling.

Directions

Start by making the sauce, whisk all ingredients together, set aside. Chop cilantro and peanuts, set aside.

Melt coconut oil in skillet over medium high heat, add shallot and saute until translucent, 1-2 minutes. Add chicken and saute until browned, and nearly cooked.  Lower heat and pour sauce over chicken, let cook until sauce is nearly gone, 1-2 minutes. Take off heat, stir in cilantro.

Fill your lettuce with about a half cup of the mixture, sprinkle with peanuts- done!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment