Coconut Matcha Latte

The first time I tried Matcha I was working at a coffee shop in college, and that’s also, surprisingly, the first time I realized how much sugar is in all coffee drinks except actual coffee. Somehow this didn’t phase me from the occasional (daily) Almond Rocha Mocha (with whip!) rewarded to myself for completing menial tasks, like reading a chapter or writing the first paragraph of a 5000 word essay. I took treat yourself to a whole new level, so two years and ten pounds later I stopped drinking that shit.

The matcha I’m talking about here isn’t the same stuff that I was drinking back then, which is a mix of the tea mixed with sugar and probably other not so great things. While super delicious, I wanted to find an alternative I could drink more often.

Matcha is finely ground Japanese green tea leaves, tastes earthy (kind of like dirt), packed full of nutrients, versatile etc. etc. you get it, you’ve seen it everywhere. It tastes a little aggressive just mixed with water, so I like to make a latte out of it using either almond milk or coconut milk, a tablespoon of MCT oil to make more of a filling breakfast, and honey if I am wanting it a bit sweeter. You do have to blend this otherwise the oil doesn’t mix in and you can’t achieve that latte froth. Kind of a pain if you’re a Keurig-one-stop-shop type of person, but business as usual if you’re a french press type of person. If you’re fancy, you have one of those handheld frother gadgets, and if that’s the case you should get me one too.

20170517_104119

Matcha Latte

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: Depends on what type of person you are, see above
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp Matcha Powder 
  • 5 oz Full Fat Unsweetened Coconut Milk
  • 5 oz Water
  • Sweetener if desired, I use 1 tsp coconut sugar or honey

Optional:

  • 1T MCT oil or regular coconut oil works too
  • a tiny pinch of cinnamon or cardamom

Heat milk and water in saucepan over medium/low heat until just simmered. Pour into a blender, add MCT oil, sweetener, and matcha powder. Blend for  10-15 seconds until combined and foamy. Pour into cute mug of choice; pretend like you didn’t just put that much effort into making tea.

One thought on “Coconut Matcha Latte

Leave a comment